Message the Studio

News & Events

Your New July / August Local Music Playlist

Your New July / August Local Music Playlist

Burn The Headlines – Call To Arms

Burn The Headlines are an English rock band founded in 2008. With the release of the group’s first E.P, Hope and Reason, in September 2012, Burn The Headlines went on the road in support of the EP and shared stages with the likes of Glamour Of The Kill, Killswitch Engage and Sikth. Hope and Reason featured a mix of powerful and melodic songs whilst staying true to their hard rock past. “Call to Arms” is the second track from BTH’s debut album Ghosts (2017), produced by Justin Hill and recorded in Vale Studios, Worcestershire. Since the debut EP Hope and Reason, the bands sound has progressed to darker and edgier with Ghosts telling us more of a story.

Fingers Crossed – I’m Fine

Returning from a short break and with a revised line-up, Fingers Crossed are a five piece from Wymondham. “I’m Fine” is a track from their debut EP Sirens, which was entirely self-produced by the band in the members’ bedrooms. Influences for the EP range from early Linkin Park, to Skindred, and Slipknot, and shows the band's ability for various styles in each track.

Franko Fraize Ft. Tone – Let It Go

If you don’t know know who Franko Fraize is already, you should! Having quite the legacy to his name , the Norfolk native sits high on many radars in the music world. His prestigious Maida Vale session for the BBC with Huw Stephens, support from Mistajam and BBC Introducing sits alongside a wealth of both solo and collaborative material that spans a motley range of genres. His new track “Let It Go” is timed to perfection for sun filled days and feel good vibes and added straight onto the 'New Music Friday' playlist at Spotify, Franko Fraize releases the second single taken from his forthcoming 'Lights and Colour' E.P, due for release this Autumn, in the shape of the nostalgic dance inspired 'Let It Go' featuring Tone.

Headrush – Execution

HeadRush formed in late 2017 in Norwich and the members very quickly formed a bond and started writing new material from the get go. By early 2018 they had already played at a fair number of popular locations in their home town, Norwich, such as: The Brickmakers, The Waterfront and The Norwich Arts Center. With these gigs under their belt and a small loyal following already building, they decided to record and release their first EP, 'Alpha', entirely written, recorded and produced by the members of HeadRush. The song 'Execution' is the 2nd track on their EP and is definitely the heaviest song of the lot, it is a song that portrays the anger of the "Average Joe" towards the establishment, and their need to rise up above it, in a world where they hold the upper hand and need to be taken seriously.

Sayer & Joyce – Needful Things

From their new album Makes You Stronger. Sayer and Joyce are blues guitarist Ron Sayer (guitar, vocals) with the dulcet tones of Charlotte Joyce (keyboard, vocals). Both Ron Sayer and Charlotte Joyce are  extremely accomplished musicians in their own rights – Sayer has won ‘Guitarist of the Year’ (Guitarist Magazine), 4th Best Bassist (Blues Matters Magazine), British Blues Award for co-writing, and is a mainstay on the UK blues circuit. Award winning Joyce has been a professional singer for all her working life, has won awards for her song writing, and was inaugural winner of the ‘Acoustic Guitarist of the Year’ (Guitarist Magazine). She has also worked/supported the likes of Paul Jones, Dr. Feelgood, Clem Curtis, Jo Harman & Joanne Shaw Taylor.

Red Ant Band – Let’s Talk About It

The Band is based in Norwich and record in NRSIX studios Norwich. They’re made up of Justin Brand, Carol Nicholls, and Mike Lee. All their tracks are Lee/Brand and they’ve now released 21 with 5 more ready to go for the rest of the year. They play all their own music and do the arrangements. Justin is from a heavy rock background, Carol blues and Mike Country Rock/Blues. All their songs have a story to tell.

The Heartsease Kid Ft Tom Wolfe & Imogen Stirling – Hiding & Seeking

The track is a back and forth between spoken word artists Tom Wolfe and Imogen Stirling about relationship troubles. It was released on the Words w/ Friends album created by spoken word and electronic music duo, Billy Pilgrim and The Heartsease Kid. The album is a collaboration from the local duo and multiple spoken word poets from around the UK.

Rabbits – Wild

The Rabbits are a couple who met at UEA whilst studying Environmental Sciences. A lot of their song writing inspiration comes from the 1960’s folk revival, and being amongst nature is very important for their process. In early July they set off on a road trip around Canada in their van, playing shows along the way, and in Autumn 2018 will return to the UK for a homecoming tour. ’Wild’ is the single off their new album ‘Tall Pines & Tangled Vines’, which was released on June 30th. ‘Wild’ has had many lyrical lives, and the lyrics in the finished recording are largely about the draw of the great outdoors, and the solitude that can accompany it.

Beelips – You’re Not The Queen

A Future Radio favourite, The Beelips are retroelectrotwosome consisting of Chris and Jamie (from Narwich). Their production method involves “making all the music inside a machine and sing real voices over the top - this approach sometimes works.”


Message the Studio

Thanks for your message!